Our Profile

Matt & Shannon

Back to search

Watch Our Video
State We Live in: Virginia
Our Religion: Christian
Stay At Home Parent: No
Our Age Preferences: Newborn-3 Months, 3 Months – 12 Months
Our Gender Preferences: Either Gender
Our Race Preferences: Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, Hispanic, Native American
Open to Twins: Yes

Learn More About Us

We're Open To Visits!
Call or text Lifetime Adoption at 1-800-923-6784.

home study badge

Watch Our Video

Thank you so much for taking the time to get to know us! We are a young couple that has always dreamed of having a family. After struggling with infertility for the past few years, we felt God leading us to grow our family through adoption. We are so excited and ready to welcome our first child into our lives and hearts through open adoption!

About Us

Our story started 10 years ago playing Jenga at a birthday party! We have now been married for 7 years. We love to have fun and enjoy each other’s company!

Things we like to do:

  • playing board games
  • watching a movie or new show
  • grabbing a coffee and going on walks together in the neighborhood
  • barbequing with friends or family
  • traveling

Our Christian faith is the foundation of our marriage and life. We feel blessed that God has led us to adoption and are excited to share our faith and love for life with your child.

Meet My Husband, Matt

Matt is a caring, loving, and dedicated person. Whether he is focused on a project for work or fixing something around our house, he always dedicates the same level of care and attention. He highly values family, and you can often find him FaceTiming with his brother and parents or spending quality time with me.

Matt likes fun and adventures, whether in the form of a good book, movie, or game, taking a hike, or vacationing somewhere new. Most of all, he boldly follows wherever Christ leads us. I know the love and care he shows for everyone around him will be the same love and care he will show our child.

Meet My Wife, Shannon

Shannon is a playful, upbeat, and nurturing person by nature. She is a person who always provides for the needs of those around her. From a young age, her siblings liked to call her “mini-mom” because she is always looking out for them and giving them advice. Shannon is starting her 13th year at an elementary school and loves her job as a reading teacher.

Shannon is also very creative. She loves decorating and always keeps our house clean and orderly. She can often be found in the kitchen making delicious, healthy food for me since I have multiple food allergies. Shannon’s love for children and her nurturing personality are going to make her an amazing mom!

Home Sweet Home in Virginia

Our cozy Virginia home has 3 bedrooms. Our room, a guest room, and our nursery which is ready for rocking chair cuddles and bedtime stories. We have a big, open kitchen that is often filled with the smell of homemade soups and delicious homecooked meals. Our living room is perfect for hosting family and friends! We have a beautiful backyard that is perfect for gathering, playing, and relaxing in!

Things within walking distance from our home:

  • 3 playgrounds
  • public library
  • our elementary school
  • grocery store and coffee shop

Our Family

We have a large, close family that we love spending time with! We spend lots of time with Shannon’s sister and our niece, who live 15 minutes away. Matt’s brother also lives close by in Virginia too! 

Family traditions:

  • summer beach trip with Shannon’s family
  • playing board games and video games like Mario Kart, Among Us, and Quordle
  • visiting our families for holidays

Our families are very supportive of the adoption and are excited to welcome the newest member to all of our fun!

Our Promise

We promise to love your child unconditionally. We promise to provide a safe, loving, supportive home for your child where they can grow, learn, and explore. We promise to share our faith with your child and help them develop their own love for God. We are happy to keep in touch with you in ways you feel comfortable, like through letters, pictures, and visits. We’re excited to welcome your child into our joy-filled home full of love, laughter, learning, and faith in the Lord, who has so greatly blessed and enriched our lives.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

More About Matt

Education: Bachelor's in Marketing Management
Profession: Senior Producer (Project Manager) at a Software Company
Stay-At-Home: No
Racial Background: Caucasian

His Favorites:

Ice Cream Flavor: Mint Chocolate Chip
Board game: Settlers of Catan
Birthday: My 12th birthday at a skating rink with all my friends!
Childhood Memory: Getting to pick out my own cereal box and ice cream carton on our family vacations!
Thing to treat yourself with: Thick sliced maple sugar bacon
Thing about my spouse: Her loving, playful spirit brightens my day and picks me up when I’m down.

More About Shannon

Education: Bachelor's in Elementary Education and Masters in Curriculum and Instruction
Profession: Elementary School Reading Teacher
Stay-At-Home: During school breaks and over the summer
Racial Background: Caucasian

Her Favorites:

Ice Cream Flavor: Cookies and Cream
Board game: Settlers of Catan
Birthday: My 10th birthday when I got to have my first sleepover party!
Childhood Memory: Playing make believe games with my younger brother and sister like creating an arcade out of cardboard boxes!
Thing to treat yourself with: Coffee from a coffee shop
Thing about my spouse: His loving and caring nature. He always makes me feel supported and loved.

More About Our Family

Traveling Adventures

We love to travel and see new places whether it is a day trip to somewhere nearby or far away!

States we traveled to: Maine, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Florida, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maryland, Texas, Hawaii,

Countries we have been to: England, Ireland, Scotland, France, Norway, Iceland

Favorite Seasonal Activities

Spring: Eating dinner out on our patio in the evening.

Summer: Traveling to someplace new when Shannon is out of school.

Fall: Matt, his dad, and Matt's brother have birthdays close together. We always celebrate all 3 birthdays and call it "Boys Birthday Weekend!"

Winter: Driving in our car to look at Christmas lights.

A Typical Weekend

Saturdays are usually our fun day where we plan a day trip for just the two of us or we have plans with friends. Fun things we like to do in the area:

- go to the local farmers market
- go for a hike
- picnic in a nearby park
- try a new restaurant
- go over to a friends house to visit

On Sundays, we spend the morning at church and then spend the afternoon getting ready for the week by food prepping and doing chores.

Favorite Holiday Traditions

Thanksgiving: Cooking the meal together. It is always a bit crazy, but turns out yummy! Matt likes to make the turkey!

Christmas: We celebrate Christmas Eve with Shannon's family in Pennsylvania. We make appetizers for dinner, tell old stories, and open presents.

In Closing

We are so excited to grow our family through adoption! We are so grateful that you are considering us to parent your child! Thank you for taking the time to learn more about us! Love, Matt and Shannon

Pin It on Pinterest