Our Profile

Shay & Kate

Back to search | View My Favorite Families

Watch Our Video
State We Live in: Florida
Our Religion: Christian
Stay At Home Parent: No
Our Age Preferences: Newborn-3 Months, 3 Months – 12 Months, 1 and 2 Years, 3 and 4 Years
Our Gender Preferences: Either Gender
Our Race Preferences: Any Race, African American, African American/Hispanic, Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, East Indian, Hispanic, Middle Eastern, Native American
Open to Twins: Yes

Learn More About Us

We're Open To Visits!
Call or text Lifetime Adoption at 1-800-923-6784.

home study badge

Watch Our Video

Hello from Florida! We are a warm & loving family of three who love the outdoors, art, music, and spending quality time with our family & friends.

We’ve always wanted to have a large family and are excited to expand ours through adoption.  We both grew up in very warm & loving households and want to put that energy back into the world to provide the same support and opportunity that we were given growing up.

We are excited to provide your child with a loving home and keep whatever level of connection you are comfortable with, be it keeping you in the loop remotely or having periodic visits.

About Us

We have been married for 7 years now and through ongoing fertility issues, we were blessed with the birth of our son, Bobby, in 2019. We are excited to now put our energy and prayer into growing our family through adoption!

We are both Florida natives and, while we have both traveled the world, we consider Florida our forever home.  We genuinely enjoy spending time together; we love a good board game competition or breaking out the bag boards/croquet set on the front lawn.  We also love cooking in the kitchen together and creating new recipes!

On the weekends, we take our son to explore our local area and make trips to our local zoo, parks, and museums.  Summertime means plenty of time at the beach & pool, while fall and winter are spent at our family hunt camp in Georgia.  We look forward to sharing our seasonal fun with our next child, taking them hiking at our local park, and teaching them to swim.

Our Florida Home Life

We live in a 3-bedroom ranch-style home in north Florida, in an established neighborhood surrounded by beautiful oak trees.   We are located in a multicultural suburban area and love living on a half-acre with enough space and room to grow.  We have a wonderfully wild household with a few animals – two dogs, a cat, and three chickens.

We continually strive to make our home a place of routine and stability.  A ‘day in the life’ for us includes work/school, play, dinner as a family around the table, creative activity/preschool homework of choice, playing in the yard, bath time & reading books before bed.

As we both work, we will be utilizing childcare and already have a daycare/preschool near our house that Bobby has attended since he was a baby.


About my husband Shay

Shay is the yin to my yang. He is cool, calm, and collected.

He is insightful and funny, comes across as quiet at first, and keeps things grounded in our household.  Shay has an innate understanding of how to fix things, and he loves using it by fixing whatever machines he can get his hands on.  Shay is a certified NFESA Tech and supports restaurants & businesses across the north Florida and southeast Georgia area.  He has spent time teaching in the US and South Korea. He loves reading and enjoys subjects such as history and current affairs.

Shay is wonderful with kids, playful and fun! He loves chasing our son around the yard and playing whatever crazy make-believe game Bobby comes up with.  He looks forward to sharing his love of movies, history, and board games with our next child.

About my wife Kate

Kate excels at everything she does. She is the executive assistant for her company’s CEO, and her ability to juggle multiple responsibilities both at home and at work is something I marvel at regularly.

She is kind, compassionate, and an incredible mother to our son. She loves cooking, going to the beach, and relaxing on our back porch with me after a long week. She can also be quite the mama bear when the situation calls for it, for her family comes first, no exceptions! 

She loves playing with our son, building block towers, and especially reading bedtime stories every night.  She loves taking Bobby for walks on the beach to find shells and shark teeth.  She looks forward to sharing her love of reading and our local beaches with our next child.

Our Son and Family

Our son, Bobby, is an adventurous and loving 4-year-old who is very social and loves other kids.  He enjoys all things trucks and vehicles and loves riding his four-wheeler, tractor, or bike whenever possible. He can’t wait to be a big brother!

Our tight-knit extended family is everything to us.  We either drive to see the grandparents or they drive to see us at least once or twice a month.

Shay’s mom and dad live in Florida and Kate’s dad and his wife live in southeast Georgia. They are very excited to welcome another grandchild into the family.   Kate’s dad looks forward to building another little rowboat like he has built for Bobby, and Shay’s dad looks forward to showing our next child all there is to know about wildlife in Florida & Georgia.  And the grandmothers are looking forward to teaching them how to bake!

Our Promise to You

We promise that we will raise your child to be strong, confident, educated, and empathetic.  We will provide your child with unconditional love, acceptance, and stability. Whatever hobbies or passions they are drawn to, whatever pursuits they endeavor to have, we will be there for them, cheering them on every step of the way. We promise to stay true to our commitment to you and your child and to stay connected with you throughout all the ages and stages (if that is what you want).   We truly appreciate your consideration and promise that your child will know the love you have for them.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

More About Shay

Education: Bachelors
Profession: Service Technician
Stay-At-Home: No
Racial Background: Caucasian

His Favorites:

Favorite Song: Polyester - Luke Dick and Miranda Lambert
Favorite movie: Aliens
Favorite show : The Simpsons (early years)
Favorite food: Korean BBQ
Favorite place: Hunt Camp/woods
Favorite sport: Football
Favorite board game? Video game?: Mech Warrior

More About Kate

Education: Some college
Profession: Executive Assistant
Stay-At-Home: No
Racial Background: Caucasian

Her Favorites:

Favorite Song: Spirit in the Sky - Norman Greenbaum
Favorite movie: Kill Bill 2
Favorite show : Mad Men
Favorite food: Steak, Salad and Potato
Favorite place: The Beach
Favorite sport: Football
Favorite board game? Video game?: Pictionary

More About Our Family

Our Special Interests

Art, music and culture are very important to us and we aim to instill the love of those things in our children.  We decorate for all the holidays and really try to have fun in life!

We love the outdoors. Being here in the Southeast, we have some of the most beautiful spots to explore - we do trips to the beach to play and relax, trips to the woods to go hunting or hiking & trips to the springs - we really try to get out and about.

Our Faith

Our faith is strong and we attend a Catholic Church in our local area. God is always present in our lives and we hold strong traditional Christian values close to our hearts.

Our Musical Interest

We love a bit of everything; we gravitate towards country and are both children of the 90s, so we also have alternative & Indie music on heavy rotation. We consistently have music playing in the house and love exploring all types of music, old and new.

Our Parenting Style

Our parenting style is structured and routine-oriented, and we aim to ensure that our children have a voice and that they are heard. As parents, we believe there should be mutual respect between parents and children for there to be a happy and healthy family life.

In Closing

We truly appreciate you taking the time to read through our profile. We are excited about the possibility of getting to know you and learning more about the life that you want for your child. We are excited to provide your child with a life filled with laughter, family, and outdoor adventures. We will encourage, love, and support them in all that they do throughout the years to come. We look forward to keeping in touch!

Pin It on Pinterest