Our Profile

Karlo & Lyra

Back to search | View My Favorite Families

Watch Our Video
State We Live in: Illinois
Our Religion: Christian
Stay At Home Parent: Yes
Our Age Preferences: Newborn-3 Months, 3 Months – 12 Months
Our Gender Preferences: Either Gender
Our Race Preferences: Asian, Caucasian, Caucasian/African American, Caucasian/Asian, Caucasian/Hispanic, East Indian, Hispanic, Middle Eastern
Sibling Group: Yes
Oldest up to 4 years old
Open to Twins: Yes

Learn More About Us

We're Open To Visits!
Call or text Lifetime Adoption at 1-800-923-6784.

home study badge

Watch Our Video

Nine years after our first “I love you’s”, we finally said our “I do’s”. We made a cozy home in the suburb of Chicago with our two rambunctious dogs, Obi-wan and Arya. Through the years, we have imagined a family in which smiles and laughter are never a scarcity. A family where our child can turn dreams into reality while surrounded by people who will uplift him/her to be their best self. We are excited to now grow our family through adoption, and it is our hope that you will be part of that future.

About us

We are very active along with our two dogs Obi and Arya, who love the outdoors at any given season! We love exploring new places and frequently go for quick weekend drives to neighboring towns or states to look for an adventure, such as hiking, camping, biking, or fishing.  We never miss an opportunity to appreciate the sceneries of our journeys; may it be just sitting by the beach to watch the sunrise or sunset or gazing in awe at the magnificence of the mountains on the horizon. As much as we love traveling and exploring, we find it truly worthwhile to spend time with family doing even the most mundane things, such as sitting by the bonfire in our backyard or having a simple homecooked meal together. We are excited to welcome your child into our lives and share with them our passion for nature and family. We look forward to witnessing the great wonders of nature through their eyes.

About Karlo

When I met Karlo what was most noticeable about him was his drive and passion.  He works in cardiology taking care of heart transplant recipients. He is very passionate about life, and what better way to express that than by caring for people who had a second chance at life by getting a heart. His hobbies include biking, camping, and sports such as basketball and baseball. I know he will be a great father. He has a gentle and nurturing character that is most apparent whenever he is taking care of his nieces and nephews. Karlo enjoys cooking and would especially love to cooking for our child. Karlo is a devoted family man who will love our child dearly and show them the importance of love. He will be a great mentor and will teach our baby his/her first ABC, share with them his passion for cooking, and, when older, teach them how to drive a car.

About Lyra

When I met Lyra, it was love at first sight! She is very outgoing and has a tremendous passion for life. She is the ultimate homemaker, keeping our house clean and tidy, ready for any unexpected visitors. Kids always gravitate to her, which makes me certain that Lyra will make a great mom. She is a nurse by trade, and she has a big heart for others. She enjoys partaking in events that help other people, such as packing seeds or medical supplies to be sent to third-world countries, and she has run the Chicago marathon twice to raise money for water in Africa. Lyra loves the outdoors. She loves trekking or hiking and has a passion for learning new things. Recently, she has been emersed in learning everything about archery. Lyra is looking forward to teaching our child how to play the piano, do crafts, and of course, share the words of our Lord, Jesus Christ.

Our Home in Illinois

We often refer to our house as “our happy place”. It’s a 2-story, 4-bedroom, fully fenced, single-family house located about an hour from Chicago. We were one of the very first ones in the subdivision and, after more than a decade of living here, it has grown into an active and friendly neighborhood. Young kids playing outside, families roaming the streets in their golf carts, couples walking with their kids and dogs, and outdoorsmen fishing are just some of the common sights in this tiny gem we call home. It is surrounded by extended family members, friends, neighbors, and co-workers. At the end of the day, our home is where we find solace and tranquility after a long day at work. We love spending time in our living room watching movies by the fireplace, snuggling on our patio deck with tea or coffee, watching passersby from our porch, and reading in our study room.

Our Family

Karlo’s family all live nearby on the outskirts of Chicago, whereas Lyra’s are all in the Philippines. With the advent of modern technologies and travels, the distance between the United States and the Philippines is only a stone’s throw away. All these make family holidays a celebration together of people near and far. Our famillies are thrilled for our adoption and, as tradition, everyone has prepared a little memento as simple as a hand-me-down baby shoe or a baptismal gown to an heirloom such as a bracelet or amulet for the new addition to the family. The children especially are clamoring about teaching their favorite nursery rhymes and songs while the adults are rendering their services to baby sit.


Our Promise

We promise we will nurture our child under the guidance of the Christian faith. Every child is a gift from God, and we will treat him/her as such. As parents who are in healthcare, we will ensure to focus on our child’s health and well-being. We will aim to be the best role models we can be and be parents whom our child will love, respect, and be proud of. We promise to learn patience as much as we teach it and to grow with our child, not just in body but in mind and spirit.

If you would like to learn more about us, please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

More About Karlo

Education: Master's degree in nursing, Advanced Practice Nurse
Profession: Nurse Practitioner
Stay-At-Home: No
Racial Background: Asian

His Favorites:

The great outdoors: Biking and Hiking
At home: Cooking
State to visit: Colorado
Learning new things: Carpentry
Weekend vibes : Picnic and BBQ
Me time: Going to the gym
Pass time: Play with the dogs

More About Lyra

Education: Bachelor's degree in Nursing
Profession: Registered Nurse
Stay-At-Home: Yes
Racial Background: Asian

Her Favorites:

The great outdoors: Camping and Kayaking
At home: Gardening
State to visit: Florida
Learning new things: Archery
Weekend vibes : Local festivals
Me time: Reading a book
Pass time: Watching TV

More About Our Family

Our Callings

Karlo's siblings are all in health care. Both sisters are nurses, and his brother is a pharmacist. Meanwhile. Lyra's family are all in the justice department. Both her parents are lawyers, and her siblings both work as clerks of court in the department of justice in the Philippines.

Our Family Tradition

Every year our whole family would go on a trip together. It can be hectic and intimate at the same time. Last year, we went to northern Michigan in Traverse City. This year, we plan on going to Kentucky and Tennessee to see the Ark and creation museum on our way to the Smoky Mountains.

Our Musical Interest

We have a very different taste in music. Lyra loves classical, gospel, and country music while Karlo is more into alternative, pop, and rock. 4

Our Pets

We have 2 dogs, a 6-y/o 40lb labradoodle named Obi-wan and a 5-y/o 20lb goldendoodle named Arya. Both of them are great with kids and other dogs. They will be a great companion for our future child.

In Closing

Thank you for considering us to be the parents of your child. We have prayed for you and the chance to journey life together. Our hearts are filled with excitement and anticipation to welcome you and your child into our loving family. We are very open to keeping in touch through pictures, letters, or even visits! We can't wait to share with you the milestones our child achieves, such as his or her first steps, first words, first communion, first car, and other unforgettable moments.

Pin It on Pinterest