Our Profile

Kirk & Chimi

Back to search | View My Favorite Families

Watch Our Video
State We Live in: North Carolina
Our Religion: Christian
Stay At Home Parent: No
Our Age Preferences: Newborn-3 Months, 3 Months – 12 Months, 1 and 2 Years
Our Gender Preferences: Either Gender
Our Race Preferences: African American, African American/Hispanic, Caucasian/African American
Open to Twins: Yes

Learn More About Us

We're Open To Visits!
Call or text Lifetime Adoption at 1-800-923-6784.

Watch Our Video

Hi! We are Kirk and Chimi. We are business owners with successful businesses! We are both entrepreneurs, and work from home full-time. We spend a lot of time together, often in the kitchen or living room or in the backyard, working and talking to each other in between meetings. We feel pretty blessed to have been home for all of our son’s milestones since we work from home.

We love, love, love the beach! We go as often as we can, and during the summer we stay for a week at a time for at least 3 stays. The beach is relaxing and calming for us. Nature truly grounds us and reminds us to slow down and enjoy the important things in life. Many of our best memories are at the beach. We like to sit in the sand and build sandcastles and use the boogie board in the ocean.

We hope to get to know you and learn your desires for your child.

About Us

We have been married for almost 15 years and have a 6-year-old son who we adopted as an infant. We both have had great examples of what a strong marriage and loving family is. We always knew we were loved as children and as adults. We met on a blind date; a colleague fixed us up. We knew on the first date that this might be “the one.”

Fitness is important to us! We believe in staying healthy and fit so that we can have energy to do all the things we need to do day-to-day. We walk together everyday with our dog for 2 miles, rain or shine, warmth or cold.

We are “foodies.” We love to try really great local food. We eat lots of different types of food, including sushi and Indian. Our favorite is very fresh guacamole, salsa and chips. We could eat that every day! We go on “date days” (instead of nights) to have a little fun and spend quality time together.

We look forward to sharing our life with another child through adoption. Adopting our son was such a blessing. We believe that God chose us for him, and him for us. Adoption is a very special act by both the birth family and the adoptive family. It’s a bond of trust. We understand the adoption process and know we want to share our love with another beautiful child.

About Chimi

Kirk says: Chimi is a fun, sweet and outgoing person. Most people say she is one of the nicest people they know. Chimi was born and raised in North Carolina as an only child; she was raised by both her mom and dad who were married for 50 years! Chimi was named by her father who lived in Tokyo Japan for 2 years before she was born. “Chimi” means “stable” and “constant” which definitely describes her. She has both a bachelor’s and master’s degree in psychology and worked for colleges and universities for her entire career. Chimi left her job and now owns an educational consulting business. She works with organizations that are located all over the country providing trainings and strategic planning. Chimi loves people and loves to help people learn new things.

Interests:

  • Runs a 5k race every other month, just for fun and to have a fitness goal to work towards
  • Live music & concerts
  • Eating at locally owned restaurants
  • Traveling-has been to several Caribbean islands, Spain, Italy, France and Mexico, as well as about 35 of the 50 US states
  • Reading books & listening to podcasts
  • R&B, Jazz, Pop, Classical & Hip-Hop music
  • ‘Abbott Elementary’ tv show

She would love to share all of these interests with her children. She is very intentional about spending quality time with our son. She looks forward to teaching our children to be loving to themselves and others, to love books and reading, and to show them her appreciation for nature. We both will read to our children every day. We will instill a love of learning and teach them how to play musical instruments (just like Kirk).

About Kirk

Chimi says: Kirk is originally from Virginia and has one older brother who lives in Georgia with his family. Kirk’s parents were also married for 50 years! Kirk has a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering but left the field to pursue his talent as a professional jazz saxophonist. Kirk traveled the country with top jazz artists like Najee and even played at the Apollo in New York City. Kirk has been playing the saxophone since age 9. He is very outgoing, fun-loving, funny and optimistic. He is “the life of the party.” You are never bored around Kirk, and he can talk to anyone.

Interests:

  • Can play several instruments besides the sax, including the piano and flute
  • Live music & concerts
  • Eating at locally owned restaurants
  • Traveling-has been to Hawaii, several Caribbean islands, Canada, Spain, Italy, France & Mexico
  • “Expedition” shows on the History Channel
  • R&B, Jazz, Gospel & Hip-Hop music

Kirk looks forward to teaching our children how to play musical instruments and to have a love for music.

Our Family

Our family is everything to us!

We are blessed to also have both of our moms living with us. Our son is lucky enough to have both of his grandmothers supporting him and loving on him every day. We are a fun and active family that includes our 10-year-old doggie, a lab/hound mix named Lo. We love our doggie, Lo; she is a happy, playful dog who is gentle and loving with our son.

We love doing outings each day with our son! He is very active, and often asks us “What fun stuff do we get to do today?” We like to take him to places in nature, our local sunflower fields, farms, parks all around the area, the public library, local amusement venues and playgrounds. He keeps us moving around all the time and we love it! He is in kindergarten this year. He is a funny and sweet guy and is so looking forward to having a sibling. He will be an awesome big brother! Children are the center of our world, and we will make sure they have everything they need to succeed in life. We want them to feel supported in everything they do.

Our Home in North Carolina

  • Our home
    • 5 bedrooms
    • Single family home
    • Lots of open space inside with high ceilings
    • We live in suburbia within the city limits of a medium sized city
    • We have plans for a baby nursery
    • We have a fenced backyard
    • Our favorite things about our home are our many plants inside and outside (including banana trees around the pond!) & our 3rd-floor bonus room that is set up as an office and a theatre room.
  • Our neighborhood is very close to many parks, museums, schools, shopping centers and walking trails.
  • We love animals! We have a pond in our backyard with goldfish. Our son has also asked for a fish tank in the house, so that is likely coming soon! We have a birdhouse and a bird feeder in our backyard, so we get to watch all kinds of beautiful birds hang around.

Our Promise

We want only the most peaceful, loving environment for our children. We want them to feel loved and know that they can do absolutely anything they set their mind to. We want them to feel that their parents have their back at all times.

We will be there to guide your child and help them grow and thrive. This baby will know that a whole family of people– birth and adoptive– came together to make sure that he/she had EVERYTHING needed, and that it was done in LOVE.

We will travel with our children, help them develop a love for reading and education, and help them develop a loving relationship with themselves and with God. We will teach them how to pray. We will teach them how to be independent, but also to rely on others for help when needed.

What we look forward to the most is seeing children running around our house, having fun, laughing and loving each other.

Let Lifetime know if you would like to talk or set up a video chat with us. We look forward to connecting! We’d love to talk or answer any of your questions. Please call or text Lifetime at 1.800.923.6784.

More About Kirk

Education: Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering
Profession: Owns a real estate and solar installation business
Stay-At-Home: No, but work from home
Racial Background: Black/African American

His Favorites:

Color: Blue
Food: Chicken & Sushi
Sports Teams: Carolina Panthers & Kansas City Chiefs
TV show: Expedition Unknown
Movie: Jurassic Park (any of them)
Cake flavor: Carrot Cake
Country that we have visited: Spain

More About Chimi

Education: Bachelor of Arts in Psychology & Master of Arts in Psychology
Profession: Owns an educational consulting business
Stay-At-Home: No, but work from home
Racial Background: Black/African American

Her Favorites:

Color: Red & Purple
Food: Seafood & Sushi
Sports Teams: UNC Tarheels & Carolina Panthers
TV show: The Voice
Movie: The Sound of Music
Cake flavor: Strawberry
Country that we have visited: Italy

More About Our Family

3 things we love about where we live

-We are about two hours from the beach or the mountains.
-We have great restaurants, parks and shopping
-The people are kind. They will even slow down to let you into traffic!

Our Faith

We are Christians and believe in the power of prayer. We pray together and individually on a daily basis. We believe that God expects us to show our love for humankind in the same way God shows love for us.

Top 3 Thoughts on Parenthood

-Children need to feel that they are loved and accepted no matter what.
-Parents have to constantly learn about parenting and really pay attention to what works and doesn't work with each child.
-Kids just need you to listen sometimes, not solve every issue.

3 Things on Our Bucket List

-Visit Asia (Japan, Singapore, China, S. Korea)
-Go to the Superbowl
-Go to see the Olympics

In Closing

We are a loving, safe place for your little one. We are already adoptive parents and are overjoyed as parents of our son. We want to expand our family. We hope that you will consider us!

Pin It on Pinterest